So Much Advice

Twitter, they say, is a vital marketing tool for self-published authors. With this I cannot argue, virtually all sales of Windigo so far have involved Twitter in some measure. You can feel a ‘however’ coming here can’t you? Well, yes there is a bit of a however but it’s really just a comment on my confusion.

I follow many lovely folks who write sage advice about marketing your work through social media. Almost all of them have a set of golden rules which must be adhered to. These include ‘write more books’, ‘build a relationship’ and ‘give your readers something interesting’. No argument there. The one golden rule, however, which shines above all other is ‘DO NOT KEEP SAYING BUY MY BOOK’.

I also follow many wonderful authors who tweet about many exciting and interesting things but they also shout (some of them with alarming regularity) ‘BUY MY BOOK’. Among these smashing folks are some quite high profile authors.

So, who is right? I’m afraid I don’t know the answer to that question but an old saying does spring to mind – All things in moderation.

About edwardchunter

Hello, my name is Edward Hunter. I sit at home in the Dower House on the Strathnuin Estate and scribble about the adventures of my nephew Archie and his father Magnus, my older brother. Thanks to my gammy leg I don’t get to participate in this exciting world so I must content myself with writing about it. You can find my first book Windigo on Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Much Advice

  1. This is really a great post about Twitter. I have a literary blog, and I’ve written about the positive and negatives of Twitter seen through a writer’s perspective. I totally get this. There really does need to be moderation and balance. Great post.

Leave a Reply

