The Curse of Cussing

It seems to me that there is an awful lot of cussing these days. I don’t mean when a fencing contractor whacks his thumb with a hammer or a baker drops a tray of buns, there’s always been a lot of swearing there – and quite right too, one needs a release when things go a bit wrong. No, what I’m talking about is in print and on screen – Twitter, Facebook et al are liberally spiced with all kinds of curses and it all seems a little, well, forced. Some folks just seem to slip the F word in as punctuation, perhaps they do it to shock?

The thing is chaps, the more you use it, the less shocking it becomes and in time you’ve shifted language down a notch and all of a sudden there are no words strong enough to express the strongest emotions. So knock it back a bit please, you don’t need to F this and F that constantly, it comes across as either uncouth or contrived.

While I’m on the subject of shocking language there is one word which is really exercising my patience at the moment. The word is bitch, I hear it everywhere, it sounds so ugly and demeaning. Please, show a little more respect to your peers. Where will we be if all future generations call each other are derogatory names?

One more, sorry, Hate. Hate is the strongest emotion, the opposite of love. You don’t hate peas. You dislike them. Very few of us actually experience real hate I’m glad to say and the word should be retained to express the strongest feelings in phrases like ‘hate crime’.

So, to use a saying I used just yesterday, please, moderation in all things.

About edwardchunter

Hello, my name is Edward Hunter. I sit at home in the Dower House on the Strathnuin Estate and scribble about the adventures of my nephew Archie and his father Magnus, my older brother. Thanks to my gammy leg I don’t get to participate in this exciting world so I must content myself with writing about it. You can find my first book Windigo on Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

